A walking trail of Comber town, County Down. This circular route will take the walker on a journey to discover more about buildings, monuments and streetscapes which have given the town its historical character.
Point of interest:Buildings, monuments and streetscapes around the town
OS map:Sheet 21
Terrain:Town centre pavements. One steep
Route:The route meanders around Comber town, covering approximately 1.5 miles and takes 1 hour to complete. Full directions are included in the guide which can be downloaded from this site. It focuses on the buildings, monuments and streetscapes which have given the town its historical character. Some of the points of interest include the Georgian House, the Town Square, St Mary's Parish Church home to the Comber Stones, the Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church which has strong links to Thomas Andrews and Titanic , Andrews Memorial Hall and Andrews Spinning Mill.
Facilities:Car parking is available around Comber Leisure Centre.
Toilet and refreshment faciltiies are available in Comber.
Accessible toilet facilities:Yes
Accessible terrain:Footpaths and one steep hill
Accessible signage:To complete the trail, you will require a copy of the Comber Walking Guide.
Publication:Comber Walking Guide
Publication availability:The guide is available from Newtownards TIC (028) 9182 6846 or Portaferry TIC ((028) 4488 1204). Alternatively, the Guide is available to download on this page.
Getting to the start by car:If travelling to Comber by car, turn right before reaching The Square onto Bridge Street Link (signposted.) There is usually ample parking space around Comber Leisure Centre.