Parliament Buildings is home to the Northern Ireland Assembly, the legislative body for Northern Ireland established under the Belfast Agreement 1998 (Good Friday Agreement).
The power of the O’Neill chieftains in Tyrone came to an end in 1607. Defeated in battle by English forces and fearful for their future, Hugh O’Neill and his allies fled Ireland in what has become known as the Flight of the Earls.
The Apprentice Boys of Derry Memorial Hall and museum is dedicated to the history and heritage of the Siege of Londonderry 1688 - 1689. The building is neo-gothic, with a strong Scottish baronial façade and is a listed building.
Finnis Souterrain, locally known as ‘Binder’s Cove,’ is a hidden gem for the intrepid heritage enthusiast.
The castle dates probably from around the 15th century, but the early history is unknown. This site was used for filming a scene for Game of Thrones.
Discover the history of the O’Neills, the Flight of the Earls and the Plantation of Ulster at the permanent, interactive exhibition in Ranfurly House Arts and Visitor Centre. Take a stroll on the Hill of the O’Neill and take in the excellent views.
Mussenden Temple is located in the beautiful surroundings of Downhill Demesne near Castlerock in County Londonderry.
An inscribed stone cross at Duncrun marks the site of St Patrick's Monastery and the Roman Catholic church there is dedicated to St Aidan (C6) whose tomb stands near the old church ruins. The grave of Denis O'Hempsey (Dennis Hampson), the ...