Skip Navigation Links

Mournes National Working Party

Mournes National Working Party

The Mournes National Park is being led by the DOE in relation to the designation of national park status. A Working Party of 26 key stakeholders is being established to look specifically at the Mournes area, whilst the DOE is undertaking wider consultation and review in relation to the concept of National Park designation across Northern Ireland.  This designation will require a change in Northern Ireland’s legislation and this could take as long as 2007 to happen.  The DOE has appointed Harvey Bicker, as Chairman of the new Mourne National Park Working Party.  This will formulate proposals for the National Park.  NITB Board Member, Irene Adair will represent NITB on the Working Party. 

For more information on National Parks and the Mournes National Working Party, contact Brigid O’Neill or Georgina Thurgate, Countryside and Coast, Environmental Heritage Service, Commonwealth House, 35 Castle Street, Belfast, BT1 1GH, Tel:
Click on to download National Park publication.

| More

My Type of Holiday

Practical Information

European Regional Development Fund